I Just Can’t Help Myself…

Between doing shows, working on wholesale orders, and designing new illustrations. I really don’t have much time to work on artwork. So I was thrilled to be able to come up with some cards when I booked a time to teach at Cat’s Craft Cupboard coming up this May in Escondido CA. I cleared off some space in my design studio/office/warehouse and thought about what I could come up with to teach. I started going through my stash of stamps, my main stash of stamps anyway, seems I am always misplacing them. The stamps get shoved between piles, only to be found months later. :O) -So anyway, as I was going through my pile of stamps, The Girl With the Pearl Earring – jumped out at me, as she often catches my eye. I just love to stamp with her. I have used her in greeting cards, and paintings and I am sure that I will find other ways to stamp her out. Maybe one day I will shrink her and turn her into a pendant or some fun piece of jewelry. She is just so stunning when stamped and painted. You can add a little bit of color or a lot of color to her, and she always turns out really beautiful. 

Lately, soft colors and the vintage feel has been my thing, and Pink, Pink, Pink seems to be my favorite color. So I pulled out my pinks and browns – in paints – inks – card stocks & even flowers. I also pulled out one of my favorite background stamps, and flourish stamp.

Here is the card that I came up with. Hope you enjoy looking at it as much as I enjoyed creating it. 

And I am posting another card featuring the same stamp by one of my design team members Jean Sunderman. What an amazing job she did with this card. Go Jean!

 

Published in: on April 17, 2008 at 4:24 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pprs.wordpress.com/2008/04/17/i-just-cant-help-myself/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hey Nicole!
    Just blog hopping and I saw your lovely card, she is beeeeautiful! Glad you squeezed in a little creative time. There is a lot of ‘work’ surrounding actual creative time!
    hugs,
    Pam


Leave a Reply

